April 20, 2013
New Thor: Dark World poster

image


The new Thor poster is out and the first trailer is not that far behind it. The teaser is set to be released sometime next week. This poster doesn’t really give us much to go on, but it’s nice to look at none the less.

I am intrigued on how the director of “Dark World” Alan Taylor who worked on some of the first season of Game Of Thrones will balance the new Thor film. Apparently it will have Thor and Co. going across all over the nine realms. That WILL be interesting. Kenneth Branagh’s first Thor film was a solid affair and I find it disappointing Marvel couldn’t give Ken what he  deserved money wise to keep it going at least one more time. Marvel hasn’t really missed yet with their director choices though. Taylor is a veteran director and his work is very eclectic. A lot of it from HBO original series. from the Soprano’s and Bored To Death, to Rome and Deadwood. Guy has seen it all.

April 18, 2013
Breaking down the Man Of Steel trailer

image
I love that there are probably 1,384 comic book blogs who have already broken down this bad boy. Good thing I’m the only one you can TRUST. (not really)

It is not a secret that I’m not a big DC comics fan. That being said though, I have dabbled in the “big two” (Superman and Batman) here and there through out my years. Whenever one would come out with a new film or TV/cartoon show I would check out random comics and trades that seemed interesting.

With Superman specifically, around 2005, I got HEAVILY into “Smallville” the Superman teeny bop show. Not gonna lie to you all…I loved and STILL love that show. They did a great job of showing Clark grow up in a loving household that would form the man he would become. The show would help lead me to some graphic novels I would enjoy like “Secret Identity” and “Birthright” among others. 

*side note* I remember being confronted by my band at the time claiming (among other things) that all I do is sit at home and watch Smallville. True story

So…it’s trailer #3 and the last one we’ll get for the theaters. Let’s get into it.

Read More

April 11, 2013
Man Of Steel: Expectations of tomorow




A new Superman movie is coming out this summer and it’s kind of a big deal. Warner Bros. (WB) has no idea what to do with the gold mine it’s sitting on. After hitting home runs with Chris Nolan and his Batman trilogy…WB has a “wait and see” approach with “Man Of Steel” (MOS)

Read More

April 9, 2013
Film Review- G.I. Joe: Retaliation

gi-joe-retaliation-final-poster

G.I. JOE Vs Cobra….pretty classic.

Well….That first film was pretty bad. Not gonna lie, BUT HEY….Maybe this sequel will fair better?

Read More

5:51pm  |   URL: http://tmblr.co/ZWH1rsiK5KQm
  
Filed under: GIJOE COBRA FILMREVIEWS 
April 8, 2013
Over analyzing/breaking down the new Captain America: Winter Solder pic


captain-america-2-winter-soldier-chris-evans


Apparently filming has begun on the new Cap film and Marvel sent the following pic to a number of news outlets. (Not mine which I found disturbing). Along with the picture was a press release that had some interesting nuggets in it.  One would be Confirming Batroc the leaper is indeed being played by some UFC guy that I couldn’t care less who he is and the biggest reveal iin the press release stating “…as Steve Rogers struggles to embrace his role in the modern world and teams up with Natasha Romanoff, aka Black Widow, to battle a powerful yet shadowy enemy in present-day Washington, D.C.” Looks like Black Widow is playing a fairly big role in the film and if you are a fan of the Winter Solder character/story you might know why….

Knowing the story along with reading the press release, it’s obvious S.H.I.E.L.D. will play a GIGANTIC role. Announcing Robert Redford is playing a high ranking official for the organization and bringing Cobie Smulders back as Maria Hill only cements that….and maybe that Giant S.H.I.E.L.D. logo in the picture too.

Cap wearing his shield on his back is a classic staple for him. I thought it was weird he didn’t have his shield with him at all times in the Avengers because in the comics, it seemed rare if you saw Cap without it. It’s more then a weapon…it’s a symbol he proudly wears. The
behind the back approach is a great “casual” look keeping that idea in mind.

and now…I leave you with a awesome picture of Batroc the Leaper….

image

I can only pray that the costume and look is an exact translation from the comics…

April 6, 2013
The many people who have held/wield Mjölnir

After reading Indestructible Hulk #6 it left me wondering who else has held the hammer of Thor besides Goldilocks himself? I knew a few off the top of my head and I decided to discuss those. (besides Thor himself obviously)

Remember only those who are worthy can pick up and have the power of Thor. Who else is worthy?




*warning* I discuss Indestructible Hulk # 6 a bit *SPOILERS*

Read More

April 4, 2013
The joys of first opening the Marvel Phase 1 box set

image


When they announced that this box set was going to released…I couldn’t believe it. How freaking cool is this thing? When it was brought to my attention that it was going to be DELAYED I couldn’t have been more bummed. Fast forward 6 months later and I finally met the box set of joy face to face.

The following is my reaction to it’s awesomeness…..

Read More

April 3, 2013
Breaking down “The Woverine” trailer

image

I think one of the questions that needs to be answered is this….Does Hugh Jackman have enough creative juice to keep playing the Wolverine? I have nothing, but love for that man. The situation kind of reminds me of a aging sports star struggling  with the idea his skills are diminishing while his longtime team ponders about moving on.

With the first bit of footage out….how does it hold up to this long time Marvel Zombie?

Read More

March 7, 2013
Featured back issue: Man Of Steel #1



http://comicbook.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/12/man-of-steel-1.jpg


DC has never been shy with reboots. Before “The new 52” another reboot happened in 1986 called “Crisis On Infinite Earths”. In doing so DC received a new clean bill of health continuity wise. Thus we have “The Man Of Steel” mini series that was written and drawn by John Byrne. 

Originally published 27 years ago…Can this story still cut the mustard?

Read More

March 6, 2013
Nova Corps headed to Marvel Phase 2?

Multiple sites are reporting that the Nova Corps are headed to Marvel’s Guardians Of The Galaxy film due out 2014. What does this mean? Is it a big deal?

For those of you who don’t know the Nova Corps are Marvel’s answer to DC’s the Green Lantern Corps. It’s weird it took Marvel till the late 70’s to do this. From 76-2011 we see the Nova Corps through the eyes of Earth’s Nova centurion Richard Ryder as he would join the 90’s junior Avengers squad “New Warriors” and later would be neglected after both his own ongoing series in the 90’s and New Warriors series would be cancelled.



(You won’t find anyone draw a better Nova then Mark Bagley in my opinion. See Amazing Spider-Man 351-352 and the first 25 issues of New Warriors to see for yourself.)


ok ok, I’ll get to the point. What does this mean for the future GOTG film? Well, for me anyway..the scope of the film IMMEDIATELY just got bigger. A LOT BIGGER.




Kevin Feige has already been quoted in saying that GOTG takes place 95% of the time in space. That’s ambitious. Why is it ambitious? Add in the Nova Corps your probably going to get a even BIGGER cross between Star Wars and The Avengers that’s already starting to develop. Think of the Nova Corps as living X-Wings. For some people combining Sci-Fi and superheroes could be a no brainer, but that could backfire on Marvel. Mixing them could be too much for casual fans. For Marvel Zombie’s like me it only gives me a super nerd boner.

It makes sense that the Nova Corps would play a major factor somewhere in Marvel’s Phase 2 of films. They have introduced a brand new Nova that is NOT Richard Ryder in the “Ultimate Spider-Man” cartoon.

(Which is a fantastic and fun cartoon that for some reason gets a lot of hate from the hardcore Marvel fans. I love it. The first season is on Netflix so check it out for yourself)

The same new Nova character they introduced in the “Ultimate Spider-Man” cartoon has recently started a new ongoing title in the regular Marvel Universe. I have no idea if this new Nova (Real name Sam Alexander) or Richard Ryder’s Nova is going to featured at all in the GOTG movie, but one things apparent….

…..They aren’t shoving a Nova in our faces for nothing.

http://goodcomics.comicbookresources.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/Nova1.jpg

Liked posts on Tumblr: More liked posts »